Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: State

ProEd Members Named to K-12 Standards Review Committee

Thursday, August 6, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Audrey Shores
Share |

A 10-member committee has been appointed by the Governor and speakers of the House and Senate to review Tennessee's newly developed K-12 education standards. Subcommittees broken down by subjects and grade levels will make recommendations which will be reviewed by this committee before being recommended to the Tennessee State Board of Education.


Professional Educators of Tennessee members appointed to this committee include President Cathy Kolb of Moore Magnet STEM Elementary in Clarksville and Tullahoma High School Assistant Principal Shannon Duncan. Their expertise and professionalism will surely be an important asset to this newly appointed team of educators.


Other appointees:

Sharen Cypress, Dean of Education, Freed-Hardeman University
Tracy Franklin, Principal, Steekee Elementary School
Amy Gullion, Instructional Coach, Smyrna Elementary School
Doug Hungate, Academic Director, Cheatham County Central High School
Shirley Curry, Early Reading First Director, Waynesboro
Darcie Finch, Numeracy Coach, Metro-Nashville Public Schools
Lyle Ailshie, Superintendent, Kingsport Schools 
David Pickler, former chairman of the Shelby County BOE, Germantown



Read the full AP report here:

Association Management Software  ::  Legal