Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: Editorials

Leader U 2019

Thursday, June 20, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Professional Educators of Tennessee
Share |




Leader U 2019 



 (L to R) Commissioner Penny Schwinn, Deborah Chancellor, Angie Markum, Bill Heath, Joni Bryan, Lana Seivers and Becki Louden


Nashville, TN — The Professional Educators of Tennessee held their annual professional development conference, Leader U, at Trevecca University on Tuesday, June 18, 2019. The themes of the conference were “Educating the Whole Child” for teachers and “Changing School Culture” for administrators. The Commissioner of Education, Penny Schwinn, welcomed the attendees while Graham Hepburn from Quaver Music and Ryan Jackson from Maury County Schools were the keynote speakers. Educators from across the state learned how Music, Arts, Career and Technical Education, and Physical Fitness contribute to the education of the whole child.


James Cross was the recipient of the President’s Award. This award is given to a member of Professional Educators of Tennessee as a chance to honor and recognize a member who displays the highest ethical standards, maintains high academic goals through hard work and dedication to education. Prior to being in education, James Cross was an Army Colonel who served in Desert Storm. Has been a special education and assistant principal since 1971. He currently is the Testing Coordinator at Washington County Schools and still is serving in the Army Reserves.  He has been a member of Professional Educators for over ten years.


The Professional Educators of Tennessee also gave out several awards:
2019 Teacher of the Year – Deborah Chancellor from Clarksville Montgomery Schools
2019 Administrator of the Year – Angie Markum from Ivy Academy, Chattanooga, TN
2019 Superintendent of the Year - Bill Heath from Lincoln County Schools
2019 Advocate of the Year - Becki Louden – Coffee County Schools
2019 Friend of the Educator Joni Bryan– Executive Director of the 
917 Society
2019 Friend of the Educator Lana Seivers– Dean MTSU College of Education and former Commissioner of Education





JC Bowman is the Executive Director of Professional Educators of Tennessee, a non-partisan teacher association headquartered in Nashville, Tennessee. Permission to reprint in whole or in part is hereby granted, provided that the author and the association are properly cited. For more information on this subject or any education issue please contact Professional Educators of Tennessee. To schedule an interview please contact Audrey Shores at 1-800-471-4867 ext.102.

Association Management Software  ::  Legal